Review: Confessions Of A Virgin Sex Columnist! by Kay Marie

confessions of a virgin sex columnistConfessions Of A Virgin Sex Columnist!
Kaitlyn Davis (writing as) Kay Marie
May 18th 2015
Paperback
222 pages
Romance / Chick Lit / New Adult

Synopsis
My name is Skylar Quinn. I just moved to New York with my best friend Bridget, and I have a confession. Well, more than one. Okay, quite a few really. Fine, here goes!
Confession #1: I’m a sex columnist. Hold on, that’s not really the confession. You see, I’m sort of a virgin…sex columnist.
Confession #2: I’m kind of in love with Bridget’s older brother, Oliver. No, I was. No, I am. Wait, was? Am? Crap.
Confession #3: I’ve been avoiding Oliver for four years. Or I was until today, because he just moved in. Yes, you read that correctly. He’s my new roommate. So that night we’ve both been pretending never happened, well, we might not be able to keep it a secret any longer.
And trust me, this is only the beginning.

Rating: B+ – Loved

I have a confession to make: I truly adore the Confessions Of A Virgin Sex Columnist!.

What I Liked

Not a smut. First thing I’ve got to say is don’t be misled by the title. Although, it is very catchy and it successfully grabs potential readers right away, keep in mind that this is not a sexy read. There’s just no explicit sex scenes and it’s a good thing that there’s none of it in this book.

Light. This book is a light read with a hint and twist of romance.

A fun read. But there’s more to the Confessions Of A Virgin Sex Columnist! than the eye-grabbing title itself. The story was slightly predictable but very fun and jolly and the characters and plot were realistic (well most of the characters are).

The characters. They weren’t silly. I didn’t have the urge to dislike them (and slap them, I’m kidding) at all. They are mature and they simply act like their age.

Skye. The book was written in her POV and I like the way she narrated the story. I was able to follow the story through her eyes pretty easily. And because of it, I enjoyed reading the book.

What I Didn’t Like

Ollie. He’s not really ‘my man’ – you know. He’s a great guy, great brother but great romantic interest for Skye – probably not. I’m not super thrilled about him. I mean, I slightly am because he’s just the ideal boy-next-door but being the older brother of the best friend, is not the ideal guy for me. I’m not saying Patrick, the potential suitor turned boyfriend, is the better man for Skye but he was really nice (his sister – not so much). He was too good to be true which is exactly why Skye chose to let him go.

The ending. The end of the story went pretty fast. I was like, “Wait what? That’s it? Where’s the epilogue. I need a freaking epilogue!” but then, hey, I found out a second book is on its way. I’ll be sure to pick up the sequel the second it’s out.

Confessions Of A Virgin Sex Columnist! is something that I will surely recommend. The title might weird some people out but I will say, just give it a try and be ready to enjoy this sweet romcom story.

One thought on “Review: Confessions Of A Virgin Sex Columnist! by Kay Marie

Let me know what you think.

