Review: The Summer of Chasing Mermaids by Sarah Ockler

the summer of chasing mermaidsThe Summer of Chasing Mermaids
by Sarah Ockler
June 2nd 2015
Simon Pulse
Kindle Edition
416 pages
Young Adult / Contemporary / Romance / Retellings

Synopsis
The youngest of six talented sisters, Elyse d’Abreau was destined for stardom—until a boating accident took everything from her. Now, the most beautiful singer in Tobago can’t sing. She can’t even speak.
Seeking quiet solitude, Elyse accepts a friend’s invitation to Atargatis Cove. Named for the mythical first mermaid, the Oregon seaside town is everything Elyse’s home in the Caribbean isn’t: An ocean too cold for swimming, parties too tame for singing, and people too polite to pry—except for one.
Christian Kane is a notorious playboy—insolent, arrogant, and completely charming. He’s also the only person in Atargatis Cove who doesn’t treat Elyse like a glass statue. He challenges her to express herself, and he admires the way she treats his younger brother Sebastian, who believes Elyse is the legendary mermaid come to life.
When Christian needs a first mate for the Cove’s high-stakes Pirate Regatta, Elyse reluctantly stows her fear of the sea and climbs aboard. The ocean isn’t the only thing making waves, though—swept up in Christian’s seductive tide and entranced by the Cove’s charms, Elyse begins to wonder if a life of solitude isn’t what she needs. But changing course again means facing her past. It means finding her inner voice. And scariest of all, it means opening her heart to a boy who’s best known for breaking them . . .

Rating: F – Loathed (DNF)

What I Liked

The beautiful book cover. The Summer Of Chasing Mermaids looked really promising. The cover alone gave me a happiness and satisfaction that only a beautifully designed book cover can do.

A little bit hyped. I was really excited for this book. I’ve read some promising reviews and it gave my high expectations.

The diversity. I did admire that the author threw in some diversity given that Elyse, the main character, was from Tobago.

What I Didn’t Like 

Disappointing. A lot of people gave this book a shattering five stars – and I totally respect that.  This novel made me feel like I was trying to look for something that was not just there.

Boring. My patience was tested for real. That I can assure you. But just gave up all in all. It was just boring as hell. I feel like I was reading a litany of a sad, whiny girl but that’s just me.

Poetic. Readers enjoyed how lyrical and poetic the author was in writing in this book but that’s not my jam. I just don’t appreciate it as much as the others did.

If I received an ARC I would, by all means, I would’ve tried to finish this novel but since I bought it with my own money, I think I have the right to not finish it.

18 thoughts on “Review: The Summer of Chasing Mermaids by Sarah Ockler

  1. I thought this one was just okay…the “lyrical” writing was kind of just annoying in places, and parts of it drug on forever…I think the entire book could have been wrapped up in like five chapters had the writing not just gone on and on about things that didn’t really matter.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. You’ve got determination and patience then. For that, here’s a 🍩. 🙂
      Kidding aside, if I was gonna be honest, I think my dislike goes a bit beyond the lyrical part. I had this expectation (a high one) in my head but when I realized that this book is going to a different direction of what I really wanted, I got so disappointed.
      So this book must have been a novella instead. 😄

      Liked by 1 person

  2. I’m really glad to see an honest review. A lot of the reviews I saw for this were just “OMG 5 stars must read this book” and that didn’t sit well with me. I want to know WHY you liked it or WHY it didn’t sit well with others. Thanks so much for really putting that out there. 🙂 Great review, btw.

    Like

    1. Well actually this post is more of a rant post rather than an actual review that’s why I originally categorized DNF as a feature rather than an exact review. But realizing that if I really loathed the book, I won’t be finishing it all which just sits right with me putting it both under a DNF feature and an F (loathed) review. I’m not sure if I made sense btw (most likely not).
      Basically, I didn’t weigh in much of the good side of the book probably because I didn’t give much time to read and really see the good points or my personal insights were obscured with how I felt the book as an entirety.
      Thank you for reading the review/rant. 😀

      Like

      1. I still view rants as reviews because honestly if you get that worked up over a book people deserve to know why/what you have to say. Plus, there are plenty of ways to make a review, sometimes you just gotta rant it out! 🙂 I enjoyed reading it none the less.

        Liked by 1 person

  3. I’d mostly read good reviews on this book, which is why I decided to get it. But then, I don’t know, I guess I was doing a Harry Potter reread then, and my best friend was super-interested to read it, so I lent it to her. She hated it and ranted to me for almost three classes. It was pretty convincing. 😛

    The book is still sitting on my shelf (though I probably am going to read it. Someday.) I usually read every book I buy (because hey, I spent my money on it!). I only DNF a book if I’ve borrowed it from the library or from a friend. But for now, let my shelf be the home. 😉

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Haha friends are really good at convincing us probably because we trust them and their opinions. XD
      I used to be like that. I read every single book I buy but that was back when I was in highschool (I had more time for other stuff probably because I spent way way lesser time to study ~ Okay I didn’t really study unless for an exam that time but even some of those times I fell asleep reviewing). Now, I think of DNF-ing a book as if it was a product and I suddenly had an allergic reaction using it. If I’m allergic to a cream, would I still continue using it? Of course. And I feel the same way with books that I don’t like (pretty mean to say but I just feel like I deserve to read something better for my taste). Just now, I feel like I can be doing some productive or fun rather than letting myself be trapped doing something I hate.
      Good thing you guys have libraries that offer books for the young imaginary mind (yes lol). Gosh the only thing I can borrow from my college library is a pharmacopoeia or a research journal (and all those kinds of books). Consider yourself lucky. 😀

      Liked by 1 person

      1. Well, considering that I AM in high school right now, there’s a full probability that that I might turn out to be just like that in a few years. Dunno. *shrugs*

        Oh, our school library is rubbish. Nothing but science magazines and textbooks. Storybooks only include Harry Potter, Agatha Christie, some Dan Browns and some others books and that’s it. And they hardly ever bring in fresh stocks, so yeah, NOT good. :/

        My local library is pretty cool, though. I mean, I only refer to it as a “library” out of habit — it’s actually a bookstore. Only with a bookseller who’s just super-awesome and let’s me borrow books before I buy them (he’s known me since I was born, and he’s honestly like a father figure). Obviously, they refresh their stocks regularly (I mean, it’s a bookstore), and when I mention a book that they haven’t brought in yet, it almost immediately goes on order (because most of the time, the books that I refer to get sold out pretty fast. Yeah, I’m totally not bragging. 😛 ). And yes, I’m really lucky to have a “library” like that at my disposal. 😀

        Liked by 1 person

        1. Well, now that’s a different story. You didnt mention that your ‘library’ is literally a bookstore. Haha. Now youve given me a bookish tip. Befriend the bookseller/owner so he’ll let me borrow books before buying them.
          Well, I wish there’s a library like that where I live. Most bookshops here are chain stores or retail outlets managed by one big central managing company (and most of them are located just in the malls) ~ not just privately owned by one or two persons so security is way tighter. There was a time I wished I could work part time on a small bookshop. That would’ve been fun.
          Okay, you’re just one lucky girl. Now, I’m jealous. *kidding*

          Liked by 1 person

          1. I know, that’s precisely the reason why I don’t go around mentioning this to people! I am aware that it is an insanely cool part of my people that easily gets people jealous! 😛

            Liked by 1 person

  4. I’m sorry things didn’t work out. If you want to get rid of the book you can always do a book trade. Either with another blogger, reader or whatever. Or you could do it online through a service.

    Like

    1. Thanks for the tip. I didn’t know there’s an online service for that. 🙂 I’ll keep that in mind but I already decided to give it to a friend cause she’s pretty interested in the novel the last time I ranted on her about the book.

      Like

Let me know what you think.

